Edmund Schluessel

Edmund Schluessel writes science fiction combining Golden Age sensibilities with left-wing heart

Follow Edmund to get notified when they create a new story or post.

Subscribe

Subscribe to Edmund to support their work and read subscriber-only content.

Edmund Schluessel's short fiction has drawn comparisons to Olaf Stapledon and has been featured in the anthology Mind Candy Too, in Helios Quarterly and elsewhere. By day, he work as a teacher of mathematics. An experienced political activist in the tradition of Judith Merrill and China Mieville, he organized the biggest demonstration against Donald Trump and Vladimir Putin in his adopted home city of Helsinki.

Fiction · Posts · Books

Free

Fiction

Security Theatre of Cruelty

Published Sep 19, 2019 · 569 words (3 minutes) · 1 like · 572 views

Humor Science Fiction

Free

Inside Shanghai Hongqiao Railway Station.

Free

Fiction

Filigree and Ice, Ash and Atoms

Published Apr 24, 2019 · 1,919 words (7 minutes) · 455 views

Science Fiction Historical steampunk physics thermodynamics

"Modern" physics ideas are steampunk ideas -- Young's double-slit experiment was in 1803 and before the 19th century ends Planck explains blackbody radiation with quanta, Maxwell's electromagnetism has relativity hidden in it, and Boltzmann invents entropy... In this story I follow the implications of steampunk supertechnology with real-physics rules.

Free

urbex factory