Edmund Schluessel

Edmund Schluessel writes science fiction combining Golden Age sensibilities with left-wing heart

Follow Edmund to get notified when they create a new story or post.

Subscribe

Subscribe to Edmund to support their work and read subscriber-only content.

Edmund Schluessel's short fiction has drawn comparisons to Olaf Stapledon and has been featured in the anthology Mind Candy Too, in Helios Quarterly and elsewhere. By day, he work as a teacher of mathematics. An experienced political activist in the tradition of Judith Merrill and China Mieville, he organized the biggest demonstration against Donald Trump and Vladimir Putin in his adopted home city of Helsinki.

Fiction · Posts · Books

Free

Fiction

Security Theatre of Cruelty

Published Sep 19, 2019 · 569 words (3 minutes) · 1 like · 94 views

Humor Science Fiction

Free

Inside Shanghai Hongqiao Railway Station.

Free

Fiction

Filigree and Ice, Ash and Atoms

Published Apr 24, 2019 · 1,919 words (7 minutes) · 225 views

Science Fiction Historical steampunk physics thermodynamics

"Modern" physics ideas are steampunk ideas -- Young's double-slit experiment was in 1803 and before the 19th century ends Planck explains blackbody radiation with quanta, Maxwell's electromagnetism has relativity hidden in it, and Boltzmann invents entropy... In this story I follow the implications of steampunk supertechnology with real-physics rules.

Free

urbex factory

Free

Fiction

Choice is an Axiom

Published Mar 28, 2019 · 3,144 words (12 minutes) · 2 likes · 952 views

Science Fiction Axiomatic set theory Hard science fiction infinity Hard SF child loss Mathematics Math Logic Couples

An expert in gnosticism says I've retold a creation myth. The seed for this story was the idea of some things being unknowable--Gödel's incompleteness theorem. There're also references to axiomatic set theory. There's an exploration of the dialectical relationship between thought and matter. All these wondrous tools to understand the universe are really ways of understanding people. This is a story about a couple growing up together, and growing apart.

Free